Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas

The holiday season is filled with expectations. Sometimes that is a wonderful thing, but sometimes it can be a difficult thing too. Many of us are alone, isolated and depressed during this time. Expectaiton cna bring disappointment to a greater degree. It cna bring us to focus on what we do not have instead of what we do have when we compare ourselves to others and the expectations of the season. Scripture says we are not wise to compare ourselves to others, yet we do it anyway. To many of us, it comes naturally. 2 Corinthians 10:12 – “For we dare not make ourselves of the number, or compare ourselves with some that commend themselves: but they measuring themselves by themselves, and comparing themselves among themselves, are not wise.”

If you are where I am this Christmas season and have trouble living in the moment and you compare yourself and come up short. I encourage you to find comfort in the love of Jesus and in His acceptance. I am trying to do so. I have moments where I do find comfort. Jesus loves me this I know. He loves me just as I am, with all my flaws and the many reasons to reject me, He chooses to love me. If the One who created the universe loves me, then by comparison, the spirit of rejection, of lack and of inadequacy is defeated. Not because I measure up, but because God says I am acceptable and God cannot lie. It is impossible for Him too not tell the Truth all the time. His Truth is that We, you and I, are acceptable to Him. He care for us. he cares about our pain and he is touched with our grief.
So “when our days seems weary, our long nights dreary, I know my Saviour cares.” I know He cares.

Comments are closed.

